OCCC Open Challenge

This is a yearly competition between all the member clubs within the OCCC. Every year after the competitions the OCCC hosts a Capture and Awards Gala. During this banquet we have Keynote speakers, award winning image videos, printed image on display, the handing out of awards and more. Below are the details on the awards that can be won.


All images are eligible for individual awards by category. Additionally, individual image scores are used to determine
club awards, the Freedman Trophy for the top scoring club, the Diversity Photographer of the Year and Specialist
Photographer of the Year winners.

Accepted Entries

  • Accepted entries represent approximately the top scoring 30% of the entries in each category.
  • Accepted entries will be included in the Awards Night video.

Honourable Mentions

  • Honourable Mentions comprise approximately 10-15% of the accepted entries.

Individual Category Awards

In each of the 12 categories, there will be a maximum of three top awards and a quantity of Honourable Mentions. A
maker can only be awarded one top award per category. In the event of a tie, the judges will identify the winner.
However, a maker will retain all points on images if a subsequent award has to be given to the next entrant with the
next highest scoring entry.

    • The three top awards in each category will be:
      • one first-place
      • one second-place
      • one third-place
      • plus, Honourable Mentions
  • First, Second and Third place award winners will receive a Certificate and a Medal
  • Honourable Mention award winners will receive a Certificate.

Club Category Awards

  • Awarded to the top scoring club in each of the 12 categories. Top scoring clubs are determined by summing the
    highest score, of 6 different makers in each club, for each category. If there is a tie, then the highest score by 7
    different makers determine the winning club, etc., until a clear winner is determined.
  • Club category Awards winners will receive a plaque.

The Freedman Trophy

  • The FREEDMAN TROPHY is awarded to the top scoring club overall in the competition. The summation of the
    highest score by 12 different makers in each club, regardless of category, determines the Freedman Trophy
    winning club. If there is a tie, then the highest score by 13 different makers determines the winning club, etc.,
    until a clear winner is determined.
  • Freedman Trophy winning club receives a plaque.

Photographer(s) of the Year

One maker cannot win both Diversity POTY and Specialist POTY awards. If this happens, they will be awarded the
Diversity POTY award and the Specialist Award would be presented to the next eligible maker.

  • Diversity Photographer of the Year
    • There are 10 digital categories, plus an Annual Theme Category and a Print category for a total of 12
      categories. To be eligible for the Diversity Award as Photographer of the Year, the entrant must submit
      at least one print, one image in the themed category and at least 1 image in each of 8 of the other 10
      digital categories. The winner is the entrant scoring the highest total point count for their top scoring
      10 submissions. If the entrant submits a total of 12 images, only the top scoring 10 images (including
      the Theme and Print entry) will be considered.
    • Diversity Photographer of the Year winner will receive a plaque.
  • Specialist Photographers
    • Recognizing that there are many outstanding photographers whose excellence lies in a limited sphere of categories, this award recognizes the photographers with the highest total score based on their top 10 scoring images within a category.
    • Each of the 12 categories in the Open Challenge can have a Specialist for a total of 12 Specialists
    • Each Specialist Photographer winner will receive a Medal
    • There will only be one award per category.

More details can be found on our Open Challenge Page.


OCCC/NFRCC Inter-Regional Competition

This is an annual inter-regional competition between the OCCC and the NFRCC in Western New York. The location will be alternated every year between Ontario and New York.

This competition has 4 categories: Nature Digital, Pictorial Digital, Pictorial Prints and Wildlife Prints. Each category has a Gold, Silver and Bronze medal that is awarded to the photographers for first, second and third. The points for photographs in each category are┬áthen tallied and an award goes to the region with the highest score. The Chairman’s Award is presented to the region with the highest total score for all categories.


More details can be found on the Inter-regional Competition page.